skip to Main Content
The Finest in Crime and Suspense Short Fiction


Since AHMM’s launch, it has been nominated over 150 times and received awards over 35 times, for stories spanning the breadth of mystery subgenres from cozies to hard-boiled detective stories, and everything in between.

A complete list of all our nominated and award-winning stories throughout the years.

An annual writing contest that seeks to honor an unpublished work of fiction written in the tradition of the Nero Wolfe mystery stories by Rex Stout. See a complete list of contest winners throughout the years.

We’re proud and pleased that for the second year in a row, an AHMM story has won the Edgar Award for Best Short Story.  Congratulations to Gregory Fallis who was honored for his story “Red Flag.” (Last year, R.T. Lawton won for his story “The Road to Hana.”) Congratulations, also to the other two authors whose AHMM stories were finalists this year: Charles John Harper for “Backstory” and William Burton McCormic for “Locked-In.” All excellent stories we are delighted to have showcased in AHMM.

Back To Top
    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop